« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »
the importance of the great Serpent Effigy — the object of supreme interest at the Park.
To the right of the entrance to the effigy is a neat, substantial building, thirty by fifty feet, which serves as a shelter house for visitors in inclement weather. In this building has been installed a number of cases filled with archæological and historical relics. This feature might be advantageously enlarged. While the great Serpent Effigy must always remain the object of supreme interest at the Park, valuable lessons might be suggestively taught by a display of objects of archæological and historical interest. We earnestly, commend this feature to the thought of the Society.
For number of years, as funds were available, an effort has been made to reforest portions of the Park which had been denuded of trees before it had become the property of the Society, and already about four hundred trees have been planted.
During the past year, in addition to general care and upkeep of the premises, the house and other buildings have been painted, together with the observation' tower. A part of the line fences, for which the Society is responsible, and which had become unserviceable, have been rebuilt; a hundred additional shade trees have been planted; improvements have been made at the entrance to the Park and about the Serpent Effigy.
During the year there have been 13,000 names of visitors registered, and the custodian estimates that at least 5,000 did not register - making a total of 18,000 in all. This is the largest number of visitors to the Park in any single year.
It has been the policy of the committee to keep on sale at the Park, for visitors who might desire it, inexpensive but accurate archæological and historical literature, in the form of books, pamphlets and cards. This is sold at a price to cover publication, that no expense may be incurred by the Society. During the year 1:240 pieces of such literature have been sold.
The Custodian, Mr. Guy Wallace, continues to render efficient and satisfactory service.
The report was received, made a part of the record of the meeting and its recommendations referred to the Board of Trustees.
REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON SPIEGEL GROVE.
Mr. W. J. Sherman, Chairman of the Committee on Spiegel Grove, read the report as follows:
At a special meeting of the Board of Trustees held on the 28th of October, 1922, the Spiegel Grove Building Committee of which General Edward Orton was chairman, was discontinued and the duties of this Committee transferred to the regular Spiegel Grove Committee and the undersigned elected chairman thereof.
The Spiegel Grove Committee is pleased to report that the Annex to the Hayes Memorial Library and Museum Building, which was placed under contract by the Society, in June 1922, has been completed (excepting as to lighting, fixtures, book stacks and sundry furnishings) and is being occupied by the Society at the present time.
The building fund of fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00) provided by Colonel Hayes was wholly available by or before October 1, 1922.
Although far from completed, the building itself was dedicated with imposing ceremonies on October 4, 1922, during the exercises incident to the Centenary celebration in honor of Rutherford B. Hayes.
For the records we submit the following list of contracts executed, viz.: Carl F. Steinle . Building
$43,901.17 Arthur W. Smith
Plumbing and Heating .. 5,400.00 Moor-Pero Electric Co. . Electric Wiring
$49,751.17 There has been delay on the part of these contractors in executing some of the minor requirements of the contract and at this writing your committee has not received for payment from Architect Bradford any of the final estimates.
The retained percentages on this account are as follows, to-wit: Carl F. Steinle
$2,566.51 Arthur W. Smith
1,161.50 Moor-Pero Electric Co.
$3,778.01 It will be noted the above contracts do not include lighting fixtures for which there is an increasing urgent need as the Autumn days grow shorter. The estimated cost of these fixtures fully installed is $500.00.
There is a very considerable amount of money ($20,821.26 on July 1, 1923), in the Hayes Memorial Library Book Fund,
available at once for historical books, but no book stacks have been provided for them. Your committee respectfully recommends the immediate purchase of stacks sufficient for say 5,000 volumes at this time as the existing book fund will provide for approximately that number of volumes.
The Book Committee recently appointed by the President comprises the following members, to-wit:
Messrs. Siebert (Chairman), Thompson, Hayes, Meeker, Johnson, Packard, Sherman and Miss Lucy Keeler.
The rearranging and cataloguing of the books of the existing library (approximately 8,000 volumes) is progressing satisfactorily under the supervision of the attendant, Mrs. Dorothy E. Wright.
The regular librarian has not as yet been appointed, as it has proved difficult to find one of experience who would be satisfied with a budget appropriation of $1500.00.
The property generally has been well maintained under the supervision of our efficient caretaker, Mr. Alfred Gowing, but for whose watchfulness last winter, while burning soft coal, when anthracite was impossible to obtain, the residence might have been destroyed by fire:
We regret to report some damage to books, pictures and valuable manuscripts in the library building, during the period from early October, 1922, to early January, 1923, when the building was closed to the public, owing to the non-completion of the heating system and the failure to secure a supply of anthracite coal.
The crowding of four heating furnaces (two for the resi. dence and two for the Memorial building) into the basement of the residence created an extreme fire hazard, which attracted the attention of the insurance people and the State authorities and brought forth considerable criticism. Thanks, however, to the friendly attitude of the State Emergency Board, there will be constructed immediately under the supervision of the State Architect Hirsch, a new heating plant separate, apart and quite independent of both residence and Memorial building. For this new plant we are advised there is available at the present time the sum of $8,500.
In this connection we believe it is proper to call attention to the urgent need of more insurance on the contents of the residence. Under a policy expiring July 18, 1927, we are now carrying but $3,000 on contents and in the judgment of your Committee this is nowhere near enough and should be increased immediately to say $15,000. We request action by the Society in conformity with the above recommendation.
The local telephone company in the absence of the then Chairman of the Spiegel Grove Committee hurriedly tried to install a telephone line with the posts along the Buckland Ave. or southern frontage of the State Park. An application for injunction was verified by the Chairman of the Spiegel Grove Committee and the work itself was stopped. Immediately thereafter the President of the Society verified an amended petition drawn under directions of the Attorney General and when the case was finally decided by the Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, the decision was in our favor and the poles were ordered removed within sixty days. Subsequently the Telephone Co. appealed the case to the Circuit Court where it is set for hearing at the October (1923) term. It is of the greatest importance that the case be followed up to secure the fruits of the legal victory gained in the Court of Common Pleas.
The Memorial Building has been kept open Sunday afternoons during the recent summer months through the courtesy of the members of the Colonel Croghan Chapter, D. A. R. The Sunday attendance of visitors has been as follows:
III The week day attendance from August 15th to September 7th inclusive has been as follows:
50 We desire to bring definitely before the Society a request that hereafter all appropriations for such items as registrar, assistant librarian, cataloguer, index clerk, janitors, binders, cabinet-maker, watchman, office, stationery, water, light, heat, power, express, drayage, traveling expenses, communications, contingencies, printing, etc., be made available where they will do the most good and serve the best interest of the Society as a whole, regardless of whether the call comes from Columbus, Fremont or elsewhere. We respectfully maintain that such a course of procedure would not in the least violate either the letter, the spirit, or the intent of the Appropriation Act.
On motion of Dr. W. 0. Thompson the report was accepted and the recommendations made therein referred to the Board of Trustees.