Изображения страниц

KD 10388



JULY 10. 1940

"We most humbly beseech Thee, of Thy goodness, O Lord, to comfort and succor all those who, in this transitory life, are in trouble, sorrow, need, sickness, or any other adversity."


THE editor acknowledges most gratefully the kind permission given by many authors and publishers to use copyrighted poems which appear in this collection.

By special arrangement with, and permission of, Houghton, Mifflin & Co., poems by the following authors, whose works they publish, are used: Thomas Bailey Aldrich, Gertrude Bloede, Alice and Phoebe Cary, Mary Clemmer, James Freeman Clarke, Julia Ward Howe, Oliver Wendell Holmes, William Dean Howells, Lucy Larcom, James Russell Lowell, Samuel Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Edmund Clarence Stedman, Celia Thaxter, Mrs. A. D. T. Whitney, Elizabeth Whittier, John Greenleaf Whittier.

Credit is due : —

The Bowen Merrill Co. for the use of James Whitcomb Riley's poems, "Kissing the Rod," "Away," "Mabel," 66 Bereaved," and "Das Krist Kindel.”

Little, Brown & Co. for "Dost Thou not Care" and "In Patience," by Christina G. Rossetti; "In June," by

John White Chadwick; "We lay us down to sleep" and "A Prayer in Sorrow," by Louise Chandler Moulton; "Close at Hand," by Susan Coolidge; and "Not as I Will" and "Spinning" by Helen Hunt Jackson.

Charles Scribner's Sons for "The Two Mysteries," from "Along the Way," by Mary Mapes Dodge; "The Love of God," by Saxe Holm; and last stanza of "Threnody" and lines from "Bitter-Sweet," by Josiah Gilbert Holland.

The Century Company for selection from "Credo,” by Richard Watson Gilder, and for two poems that have appeared in the "Century Magazine,” “Hymn for Thanksgiving," by Miss S. E. Adams, and "April" by William Prescott Foster.

E. P. Dutton & Co. for "There shall be no Night there," by W. M. L. Jay.

Mrs. May Riley Smith and her publishers, E. P. Dutton & Co., for her poems, "Sometime," "A Thanksgiving Prayer," and lines from " A Pompeian Preacher."

Harper & Brothers and Mrs. Margaret E. Sangster for her poem, "A Song in Summer."

D. Appleton & Co. for "Blessed are they that Mourn," and lines from "Thanatopsis," by William Cullen Bryant.

Frederick A. Stokes Co. for two poems by George Klingle.

T. Y. Crowell & Co. for "Inevitable," by Sara K. Bolton.

James Pott & Co. for selection from "Ugo Bassis's Sermon in a Hospital."

Scott, Foresman & Co., publishers of Benjamin F. Taylor's poems, for lines from "The Bark of True Love."

J. P. Lippincott Co. for lines from Thomas Buchanan Read's "Brushwood."

"The Constitution,” Atlanta, Ga., for “Fallen Asleep" and “A Little Hand,” by Frank L. Stanton.

"The Living Church” for “Waiting," by L. D. S. Charles Henry Crandall for "Waiting," from his volume of "Wayside Music."

Mrs. Clark for "Toward Emmaus," by Simeon Tucker Clark.

Miss Cora West for the poem "Waiting," by Eli Gurney Coe.

Thanks are also due the following authors: Lyman Whitney Allen, Richard Rogers Bowker, Rev. George W. Crofts, A. A. Fields, Edward Everett Hale, William Hamilton Hayne, Harriet McEwen Kimball, and Freeman E. Miller.

A. E. M.

APRIL 2, 1900.

« ПредыдущаяПродолжить »